The Crossover DETAILS

sri lanka. 2The general public has the supreme power to elect members to Parliament where rules and regulations are made to administer the country. While sending their representatives to the Parliament, the people also exercise their choice on political parties or organizations.  However, it has become a practice of politicians to cross over to another party after being elected.  So far, this presidential election has paved the way for 30 politicians to change their colors.  The Nation contacted them to know why they crossed over. Here, they have given their own reasons which their original party was never ready to accept.

The voters might have their own take on these ‘reasons’. It’s your call.

All Ceylon Muslim Congress (ACMC)
Ameer Ali
Rishad Bathiudeen
Expressed that the environment in the country for every community to live peacefully changed during the last four years

Alleged that the Bodu Bala Sena (BBS) was formed with the blessing of the government to create communal disharmony that resulted in several incidents such as the Aluthgama incident

Stressed that people should cast their vote to the common candidate if they really wanted to safeguard the peace achieved by the dedication of security forces
Also rumoured that Bathiudeen crossed over to the opposition due to the alleged clash with Parliamentarian Sri Ranga, who is supportive of President Mahinda Rajapaksa

National Union of Workers (NUV)
Palani Digambaran
Hoped that the living standards of the estate workers could be uplifted under the government of Maithripala Sirisena

Jathika Hela Urumaya (JHU)   
Champika Ranawaka
Athuraliye Rathana
Decided to leave the government when its proposals pertaining to an immediate constitutional amendment before the presidential election were turned down by
President Mahinda Rajapaksa

their intention is to help build a political system, where the Executive Presidency is abolished and the present electoral system is amended to create national unity and to represent all the political parties in the country

The common candidate has also agreed with the JHU to preserve the constitutional prominence given to Buddhism

Up-Country People’s Front (UCPF)
Velusami Radhakrishnan
Pledged to support the common candidate, Maithripala Sirisena with the intention of uplifting  the living standards of the estate workers

Sri Lanka Muslim Congress (SLMC)
Rauff Hakeem
Hasen Ali
M. S. M. Aslam
Basheer Segu Dawood
H. M. M. Harees
Muthali BawaFarook
M. S. Thowfeek
Cassim Faizal
Left the government to uphold good governance in the country

Complained that a number of concerns of the Muslim community has not been addressed by the UPFA government including issues with regard to religious intolerance

The SLMC leadership came under heavy pressure from the rank and file of the party to leave the government and pledge support to the Common Candidate of the Opposition

United People’s Freedom Alliance (UPFA)
Maithripala Sirisena
Announced his candidature as the Common Candidate of the Opposition with the consent of the UNP and several other political parties and civil organizations
Expressed vehement opposition to the 18th amendment which lifted the two term limit on the Executive Presidency.

Was disappointed over the breakdown of rule of law, bribery and corruption.

Said that his work was interfered to a great extent by top echelons of the government and was prevented from introducing a national drug policy and 80 percent pictorial warnings on cigarette packets

Rajitha Senaratne
Anti-Muslim clashes in Beruwala and the ruling party’s silence over the hardcore Sinhala-Buddhist groups who were allegedly involved in the clash was the first incident which triggered his defection

His role as the Fisheries Minister came under criticism from some quarters of the ruling party further deteriorating his relations with the government

Soon before his defection, the Minister came under fire for his son, Chathura Senaratne’s involvement in ‘Pivithuru Hetak’ organization, led by Athuraliye Rathana Thera.

Faiszer Musthapha
Decided to join the common opposition when the government failed to take action against hardcore organizations such as the Bodu Bala Sena and even allowed them to support President Rajapaksa’s candidature

Nandimithra Ekanayake
Was a close supporter of the former President Chandrika Bandaranaike Kumaratunga

Nandimithra was not given a Cabinet portfolio despite his 25 year long career in national level politics.

Wasantha Senanayake
Gampaha district UPFA Parliamentarian crossed over to the opposition when his letters to the President pertaining to constitutional amendments did not get any response

Achala Jagoda
Was an active member of the National Freedom Front and also held the post of Deputy Minister of Tourism states that the President has not fulfilled his previous election manifesto, therefore no trust can be placed in his 2015 election manifesto

M. K. D. S. Gunawardena
A senior politician representing the Sinhalese community in the Eastern province

Main allegation was that the old guard of the SLFP was being sidelined

Navin Dissanayake
The son-in-law of UNP Leadership Council Chairman Karu Jayasuriya and his crossover was speculated for several months

Duminda Dissanayake
Fell out with the government when his father, the late Berty Premalal Dissanayake was not given the Chief Ministerial Post of the North Central Provincial following

the last PC election

During his father’s funeral he referred to former President CBK as his “second mother” and earned the ire of certain powerful quarters of the government

Rajiva Wijesinha
United with the Common Opposition pointing out that the government disregarded numerous proposals and requests on improving international relations and the diplomatic service of the country and as a result the country is being beleaguered in the international domain

Perumal Rajadurai
Joined the United National Party to support the candidate, Maithripala Sirisena

Hunais Farook
Made several requests to the government to curtail the activities of the Bodu Bala Sena organization
Later, with the governments’ inaction regarding the requests made he joined the common opposition to support Maithripala Sirisena

United National Party (UNP)
Tissa Attanayake
Alleged that though he was the General Secretary of the party he was not aware of the agreement signed between the political parties of the opposition and the

Common Candidate

Complained that a ‘certain clique’ affiliated with the UNP leadership conspired to oust him from the party

Pledged to support President Rajapaksa since it is a leadership that would work for safeguarding the sovereignty of the country

Accused the Common Candidate of undermining the UNP and sidelining the UNP members

Democratic National Alliance (DNA)
Jayantha Ketagoda
A Former Deputy Leader of the Democratic Party

Criticized Sarath Fonseka for joining the Common Opposition saying they are a group which acts with the terrorists’ opinions

Decided to support President Mahinda Rajapaksa to further stabilize the country – See more at:

Related posts