UPFA politicians summoned on contempt charges

The Colombo Magistrate’s Court today issued notice on 27 persons including 10 UPFA Parliamentarians to appear before the court on May 8 on contempt of court charges, after they violated a court order and staged a protest opposite the bribery commission.

Colombo Chief Magistrate Gihan Pilipitiya issued notice on the individuals after considering a report presented to the court by the Cinnamon Gardens Police.

A protest was organized in front of the Bribery Commission yesterday (23) condemning the decision to summon former Defence Secretary for questioning despite a court order issued the previous prohibiting such a gathering at the location.

1653637351proThe ten UPFA MPs issued notice include Dullas Alahapperuma, Bandula Gunawardena, Janaka Priyantha Bandara, Roshan Ranasinghe, Sarath Weerasekara, Udith Lokubandara, Jayantha Ketagoda, Weerakumara Dissanayake, Gamini Lokuge and SM Chandrasena.

Western Province Chief Minister Prasanna Ranatunga, Western Province Councilors Udaya Gammanpila and Roger Seneviratne have also been issued notice.

Meanwhile several Buddhist monks have also been issued notice to appear before the court.

They include former Coordinating Secretary to the President on Religious Affairs Ven. Watinapaha Somananda Thero, Chairman of Public Service United Nurses’ Union Muruttettuwe Ananda Thero, chief prelate of the Sunethra Devi temple in Pepiliyana Ven. Medagoda Abayathissa Thero, Convener of the Ravana Balaya Ittekande Sadda Tissa Thero and General Secretary of Bodu Bala Sena (BBS) organisation Ven. Galaboda Atte Gnanasara Thero.

Related posts