Upcountry Tamil Progressive Alliance Ties Up With UNP In Lankan Polls and Thonda goes with Mahinda

The Tamil Progressive Alliance (TPA), a new grouping of political parties of the Indian Origin Tamils (IOTs), is fighting the August 17 Sri Lankan parliamentary elections in alliance with the United National Party (UNP), TPA leader, Mano Ganesan, said in a press release on Friday.
5b3d985d1cc0b2d5d4abae602c961f36_L While Ganesan is standing in Colombo District, Palani Thigambaram and V.S.Rathakrishnan is fighting in Nuwara Eliya district. Thigambaram (National Workers’ Front) and Rathakrishnan (Up Country Peoples’ Front) are ministers in the UNP government led by Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe. Ganesan is the leader of the Democratic Peoples’ Front (DPF).
Others TPA members in the fray are: Shan Kuhavarathan (DPF-Colombo); M.Thilakaraj (NWF-Nuwara Eliya); M.Velu (DPF-Kandy);  A.Aravindakumar (UPF-Badulla); M.Chandrakumar (DPF-Ratnapura); and S.Sasikumar (DPF-Gampaha).
The other party of the IOTs, the Ceylon Workers’ Congress (CWC), led by Arumugan Thondaman,  will go with the United Peoples’ Freedom Alliance (UPFA) currently led by Sri Lankan President Maithripala Sirisena and former President Mahinda Rajapaksa. CWC has a base in Nuwara Eliya and Badulla Districts.

Related posts