Final Result Released, UNP Wins 106 Seats

_84705172_hi028121489The UNP received a total of 5,098,916 votes and won 106 seats including 13 from the national list, thereby becoming the largest single party in the next parliament. The UPFA won 4,732,664 votes and won 95 seats with 12 national list seats. The ITAK won 16 seats including 2 from the national list while the JVP could manage only 6 seats including the 2 from the national list. The EPDP and the SLMC won 1 seat each.
None of the other political parties could win any seats at the general election held on August 17.

Accordingly, the final composition of the parliament is: 

UNP – 106,  UPFA – 95,  ITAK – 16,  JVP – 6,  EPDP – 1,  SLMC – 1

Related posts