Death penalty for Duminda,four others on split decision

article_imageBy Chitra Weeraratne

Two Judges out of the three High Court Judges, who comprised the trial-at-bar yesterday convicted former Parliamentarian Duminda Silva and four others of the conspiracy to murder and commit the murder of former Parliamentarian and presidential advisor, Bharatha Lakshman Premachandra.

Death penalty was imposed on the convicts for that crime.

Eight out of the 13 accused who were indicted were discharged. The death penalty was imposed on Duminda Silva, Anura Thushara de Mel, Chaminda Ravi Jayanath, G. D. Sarath Bandara and Priyantha Janaka Bandara.

The High Court Judges who convicted these accused and imposed death penalty were High Court Judges Padmini N. Ranawaka Goonetillake and M.C.B.S. Moraes.High Court Judge Shiran Guneratne (Chairman) acquitted all the accused on grounds of contradictory evidence.

Deputy Solicitor General Thusith Mudalige appeared for the Attorney General. President’s Counsel Anil Silva appeared for the defence. The crime was committed on October 8, 2011 in Kolonnawa area on the day of the last local government elections.

Related posts