Northern Province Chief Minister C. V. Wigneswaran today temporarily took over four ministerial portfolios

By Romesh Madhusanka

Northern Province Chief Minister C. V. Wigneswaran today temporarily took over all four ministerial portfolios of the council under his purview after informing two of the ministers to resign and the other two to go on a month’s-leave, due to charges of corruption.

DM_20170615_A001-6When the committee report which was made over the corruption charges levelled against all four of the council ministers was taken up for debate today, the Chief Minister informed the Education Minister T. Gurukularajah and Agriculture Minister O. Ainkaraneshan to resign. He informed Transport and Trade Minister B. Deniswaran and Health Minister P. Sathyalingam to go on a month’s leave.

Mr. Wigneswaran afterwards informed Council Chairman C.V.K. Sivagnanam that he will take over the portfolios of all ministers under his purview for the time being.

The council ministers who were accused said that although they were not guilty of the charges levelled against them, they would accept the decision taken by the Chief Minister.

Opposition Council Member V. Jayathilake said they were not given the opportunity to express their opinions during the debate and therefore, all opposition members walked out of the council. He said discussions with regard to the vacancies of the four ministries would be held on June 22, during the council session.

Meanwhile, a No Confidence Motion against Northern Province Chief Minister C. V. Wigneswaran had been handed over to Northern Governor Reginald Cooray at around 9.00 pm yesterday (14) with the signatures of 21 Provincial Councillors.

Related posts