TNA leadership asks members to withdraw no confidence motion

By Kelum Bandara and Romesh Madusanka
The Tamil National Alliance (TNA) leadership is reported to have requested its members in the Northern Provincial Council (NPC) to withdraw the no confidence motion signed against Chief Minister C. V. Wigneswaran, it is learnt.   

DM_20170616_A001-5 The TNA is a political party comprising four parties, the Ilankai Tamil Arasu Katchi (ITAK), People’s Liberation Organisation of Tamil Eelam (PLOTE), Tamil Eelam Liberation Organization (TELO) and Eelam People’s Revolutionary Liberation Front (EPRLF). The no confidence motion has been initiated by the members belonging to the ITAK.

They had handed over the motion to Northern Province Governor Reginald Cooray. Mr. Cooray eventually asked the members concerned to raise it at the Council meeting. In addition he had requested the Chief Minister to prove that he commanded the majority support at the moment.

In the meantime, the TNA representatives held a meeting in Jaffna yesterday. Following this, EPRLF leader Suresh Premachandran told Daily Mirror that TNA leader R. Sampanthan had apparently told the ITAK members to withdraw the motion till he sorted out the matter.

Mr. Sampanthan said his party, along with PLOTE and TELO, were opposed to the no confidence motion.

He said the shops would be closed in the North and public demonstrations would be conducted in the North today to express solidarity with the Northern Chief Minister. He said the problems the CM was facing arose after he initiated action against two provincial ministers involved in corruption.

 “This is an internal problem of the ITAK,” he said.

Related posts