No change in the post of Prime Minister – Chandrika

Former President Chandrika Bandaranaike Kumaratunga says there will be no change in the post of Prime Minister.

The former President expressed these views, responding to questions raised by journalists.

Meanwhile, MP Ananda Aluthgamage stated that despite the shortcomings in the party, that he will vote against the no- confidence motion.

On March 21, the motion of no-confidence against Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe was handed over to the Speaker of Parliament by MPs representing the Joint Opposition.

Joint Opposition leader Dinesh Gunawardena handed over the motion to Speaker Karu Jayasuriya. Former President Mahinda Rajapaksa, who is also a signatory of the motion, was present on the occasion.

The motion has reportedly been signed by a total of 55 MPs including 51 from the Joint Opposition and 4 MPs from the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP).

Meanwhile, MP Shehan Semasinghe says that a group of UNP parlimnentarians  are ready to vote in support of  no- confidence motion.

“Even the MPs who signed against the no –confidence motion, agreed to vote for the motion at the parliament.”

No faith motion against PM: TNA to decide on April 2

The Tamil National Alliance (TNA), which enjoys 16 seats in Parliament, said yesterday it would take a decision regarding the no confidence motion against Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe only on April 2, a party official said yesterday.

Last week the joint opposition handed over a No-confidence Motion against the Prime Minister to the Speaker. It is scheduled to be debated only on April 4. Already however some ministers of the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) and the Janatha Vimukthi Peramuna (JVP) have come out and said they would support the motion.

Asked about the TNA’s position, its Jaffna district MP M.A. Sumanthiran told Daily Mirror the party would have its parliamentary group meeting on April 2 and decide on its position.

The TNA is the main opposition in Parliament. If the no-confident motion goes through the Prime Minister will have to relinquish office.(Kelum Bandara)

Related posts