16 SLFP MPs who quit the government request for seats on Opposition side

The 16 Sri Lankan Freedom Party MPs who quit the government requested parliament secretary General to allocate them seats on Opposition side, Ada Derana parliament correspondent reported.

The letter bearing the signatures of all 16 SLFP MPs has been handed over to parliament secretary General Dhammika Dissanayake this morning (27) said SLFP MP Sudarshani Fernandopulle while addressing media after handing over the letter.

Speaking further, Fernandopulle  said the restructure of the party will take place from top level to grass root level after May Day.

Sixteen SLFP Ministers and MPs who voted in favour of the no-confidence motion against the Prime Minister decided to step down from their posts in the National Government on April 11.

President Maithripala Sirisena, in his capacity as the leader of the SLFP, gave permission for the 16 party members to resign from their posts.

Related posts