President informed after no-confidence motion against govt passed – Speaker

No-faith motion passed in House for 2nd time: JVP – Daily Mirror – Sri …

Mahinda Rajapaksa’s govt has ceased to exist – Hakeem

Jathika Hela Urumaya leader Patali Champika Ranawaka said that the no-confidence motion was passed legally, in line with what was expected by the President.

Vote reaffirms MAHINDA has no majority: TNA | FT Online – Daily FT

The second clause of the motion of no-confidence against the Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa and the government has been passed in the Parliament today (16) according to the parliamentary Standing Orders, the Office of the Speaker said.

Issuing a press release, it said that the motion has been presented to the Parliament by MP Anura Kumara Dissanayake and seconded by MP Vijitha Herath.

This was in accordance with the decision taken at the special meeting held with the President, the Speaker and party leaders last evening (15).

The press release issued by the Speaker’s Office stated that, in terms with the Article 48(2) of the Constitution, the parliament accepts the official statement on the dissolution of the Cabinet of Ministers, as well as the no-confidence motion against the Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa and the government.

The Speaker’s Office said that the no-confidence motion, which was passed along with the signatures of 122 Parliamentarians, has been sent to the President Maithripala Sirisena by the Speaker.


Related posts