Shivajilingam and Hezbollah submitted nominations at the request of Basil Rajapaksa for breaking the minority votes of Sajith Premadasa.

(Lanka-e-News -07.Oct.2019 -10.20PM) 35 candidates submitted their nominations to the Election Commission today 7th october. 41 people have placed their deposits, but six people have not filed nominations. Chamal Rajapaksa and Kumara Welgama were among those who did not hand over nominations.

Among the 35 candidates were 19 registered political parties, 19 independent candidates and 3 unregistered parties. This is a presidential election where most number of candidates contesting in the history of Sri Lanka. This is also the first presidential election where neither the current president nor the prime minister nor the opposition leader is contesting.

Sajith Premadasa handed over the nomination with the swan symbol and Gotabhaya Rajapaksa handed over the nomination from the Pohottuwa symbol. While no one from the SLFP has come forward to contest, it is believed that one group will support Gotabhaya and another group will support Sajith Premadasa. Although Maithripala Sirisena has told the SLFP MPs yesterday that he will not step in to the Pohottuwa stage only God above knows what decision he will make today.

Anura Kumara Dissanayake handed over nominations from the National Peoples Movement and the former Army Commander General Mahesh Senanayake is contesting from the National People’s Party from the symbol bulb.

Both Shivajilingam and Hezbollah submitted nominations as independent candidates. Both had submitted their nominations at the request of Basil Rajapaksa for breaking the minority votes of Sajith Premadasa. There were two objections against Sivajilingam and Hezbollah but both objections were rejected.

In protesting the nomination, the Election Commission accepts only technical issues, and the commission did not take a decision about Gotas American citizenship or file an objection due to concerns of fear. However, it is learnt that a petition would be filed in the Supreme Court against his US citizenship. Lanka e news will bring separate news about the contents in the objection.

Following is the list of the nominees who presented their nominatios.

Ketagoda Gamage Jayantha Perera (Independent)
Siripala Amarasinghe (Independent)
Ajantha Wijesinghe Perera (Socialist Party of Sri Lanka)
Ven. Aparekke Punnananda Thera (Independent)
Welisarage Saman Prasanna Perera (Ape Jana Bala Party)
Nandasena Gotabaya Rajapaksa (Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna)
Ariyawansha Dissanayake(Democratic United National Front)
Sirithunga Jayasuriya (United Socialist Party)
Warnakulasuriya Milroy Surgeus Fernando (Independent)
Badde Gamage Nandimithra (Nava Sama Samaja Party)
Nambunama Nanayakkara Akmeemana Palliyaguruge Vajirapani Wijesiriwardena (Socialist Equality Party)
Sarath Manamendra (Nava Sihala Urumaya)
Pallewatte Gamaralalage Rohan Pallewatte (National Development Front)
Anura Kumara Dissanayake (National People’s Power)
Chandrasekara Herath Hitihamy Koralalage Samansiri Herath (Independent)
Welera Keerthiratne Mudiyanselage Sarath Vijithakumara Keerthiratne (Independent)
Polgampala Ralalage Chaminda Anurudda (Independent)
Samaraweera Weerawanni (Independent)
Ashoka Wadigamangawa (Independent)
A.S.P. Liyanage (Sri Lanka Labour Party)
Ven. Battaramulle Seelaratne Thera (Jana Setha Peramuna)
Sajith Premadasa (New Democratic Front)
Illiyas Idroos Mohamed (Independent)
Wijenayake Kankanamge Piyasiri Wijenayake (Independent)
Duminda Nagamuwa (Frontline Socialist Party)
Rajeewa Wijesinghe (Independent)
Mahesh Senanayake (National People’s Party)
Aruna De Soysa (Democratic National Movement)
Ajantha De Soysa (Ruhunu Janatha Peramuna)
Priyantha Munihath Edirisinghe (Okkoma Wasiyo Okkoma Rajawaru Sanvidanaya)
Namal Rajapaksa (Nationalities Unity Organization)
M.K. Sivajalingam (Independent)
Mahamood Lebbe Alim Mohamed Hizbullah (Independent)
Ahmed Hassan Mohamed Alavi (Independent)
Subramanium Gunaratnam (Our National Front)

by     (2019-10-07 19:10:49)

Related posts