PM at civil society vigil to mark their triumph over Oct constitutional coup


Prime Minister and UNP leader Ranil Wickremesinghe and Minister Dr. Rajitha Senaratne will join members of the Civil Society and Trade Union Collective today (26) at 7 pm at the Independence Square to mark the triumph of democracy over President Maihripala Sirisena-JO leader Mahinda Rajapaksa attempt to grab power unlawfully.

A spokesman for the grouping said that those who joined the UNP and the civil society to defeat the Oct 26, 2018 constitutional coup could join the Independence Square vigil. According to him, the SLPP presidential candidate Gotabaya Rajapaksa was being backed by political forces bent on subverting democracy. Responding to a query, he said had they succeeded the country would have been ruined.

Related posts