SLFP “deeply disappointed” over Cabinet positions

ECONOMYNEXT – The Sri Lanka Freedom party (SLFP) is “deeply unhappy” over the treatment given to it by the governing Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna in the distribution of Cabinet positions as well as the allocation of National List Seats, a senior party member said.

Prof Rohana Luxman Piyadasa, a former General-Secretary of the party told EconomyNext that there is “disappointment within our ranks that there is no sharing of power with us as we were the main ally which gave the alliance a two-thirds majority.”

SLFP members won 14 seats and Piyadasa claims it “could have been 20 if we contested as a separate party.”

He said that the future course of action will be decided at the party’s politburo meeting and a probable Central Committee Meeting.

“We worked hard for the victory of Gotabaya Rajapaksa as President, as a result, we feel that we should be able to give political direction to the implementation of his program as an equal partner,” he said.

Piyadasa also pointed out that the party had been allocated two seats on the National List and the SLFP had nominated two persons, himself and Dr Suren Raghavan the former Northern Province Governor.

According to Piyadasa, he was designated as the first choice and Raghavan second. “However they chose only Raghavan,” he said.

Yesterday the SundayTimes newspaper quoted the current General Secretary of the SLFP Dayasiri Jayasekara as saying that he had sent three names up for Cabinet positions, they were Nimal Siripala de Silva, Mahinda Amaraweera and himself.

Jayasekara did not get a cabinet portfolio but a State Ministry entitled Batik, Handloom and Local apparel, one of the several names of Ministries former Finance Minister Mangala Samaraweera has called “hilarious.”

Both Piyadasa and former President Chandrika Kumaratunga have said that the Ministries that Amaraweera and De Silva were given “do not have major institutions attached to them.”

Related posts