Opposition slams power concentration on Rajapaksas

  • SJB MP alleges 126 of 434 Govt. entities under purview of Rajapaksa family
  • Says President, three Rajapaksas in Cabinet, one State Minister among those who have control over important Govt. bodies 

By Chandani Kirinde 

A total of 126 departments, boards, authorities and statutory bodies or 29% of all such bodies come under the purview of the ministries headed by the members of the Rajapaksa family, Galle District SJB MP Manusha Nanayakkara told Parliament yesterday.

This is out of the total of 434 departments, boards, authorities and statutory bodies in the country, Nanayakkara disclosed while participating in the debate on the Policy Statement of the Government presented to the House on Thursday. “The President and Prime Minister are from the same family. There are two Cabinet Ministers from that family – Chamal and Namal Rajapaksa. Shasheendra Rajapaksa is a State Minister. Chairman of the District Develop-ment Council is Nipuna Ranawaka. 

“Prime Minister has three cabinet portfolios – Buddha Sasana, Finance and Housing and Urban Development. President Gotabaya Rajapaksa has 23 institutions.

Prime Minister has 49 under the Finance Ministry, 11 under the Buddha Sasana and six under the Urban Development Ministry. He has 66 institutions under him. Namal Rajapaksa has seven. Sasheendra has six,” he said.


Related posts