Thawarsa and Mawai will hold TNA NL post for two and a half years each

by Dinasema Ratugamage

The Tamil National Alliance (TNA) has decided to appoint two people, each holding the post for two and a half years, to its National List post.

A spokesman for TNA made this comment when asked about rumours that Thawarasa Kalaiarasan, who was appointed to the post will soon resign from his post. The appointment of Kalaiarasan, who is from Ampara, has caused a rift in the TNA. Thus, a number of TNA MPs had met in Colombo and the decision to appoint two men to the post had been taken there, the TNA spokesman said.

Kalaiarasan will hold the post for first two and a half years while Mawai Senathirajah will be the TNA NL MP thereafter. However, this arrangement will change if Senathirajah contests the Northern Provincial Council elections and secures the post of Chief Minister.

Related posts