SLC announces 15-member squad for T20 World Cup

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) on Sunday named a 15-member squad for the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup in October.

The decision was approved by Sri Lanka’s Minister of Youth and Sports, Namal Rajapaksa.

Dasun Shanaka is set to lead the former champion (2014), with Dhananjaya De Silva set to be his deputy. The side has also named four travelling reserves in Lahiru Kumara, Binura Fernando, Akila Dananjaya, and Pulina Tharanga.

However, the squad had no place for star all-rounder Angelo Mathews after he informed SLC of taking a break from cricket. He was also recently dropped from central contracts. Apart from that, another veteran player Dinesh Chandimal has been included in the squad while Kusal Perera too has retained his place.


Dasun Shanaka (c), Dhananjaya De Silva (vc), Kusal Janith Perera, Dinesh Chandimal, Avishka Fernando, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Charith Asalanka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Kamindu Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Nuwan Pradeep, Dushmantha Chameera, Praveen Jayawickrema, Lahiru Madushanka, Maheesh Theekshana

Reserves: Lahiru Kumara, Binura Fernando, Akila Dananjaya, Pulina Tharanga

Thank you

Related posts