SLFP quits Government to be independent in Parliament

  • All SLFP State Ministers resign 

The Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) has decided to leave the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP)-led Government and function independently in Parliament.

The decision was taken at the party’s Central Committee meeting held last evening (4).

A member of the SLFP’s Central Committee, speaking to The Morning, said that all SLFP members of Parliament (MPs) who held the posts of state ministers have also decided to resign from their posts.

Accordingly, State Ministers Duminda Dissanayake, Lasantha Alagiyawanna, and Priyankara Jayaratne have resigned from their posts.

On Sunday (3), SLFP General Secretary Dayasiri Jayasekara had resigned from his state ministerial post, claiming that he had a serious moral reticence to hold positions under the current Government.

Several conflicts had arisen between the SLPP and the SLFP since 2020 when they contested in the General Election together.

Related posts