125 MPs pledge support to NCM

Pivithuru Hela Urumaya (PHU) Leader Udaya Gammanpila said, the No-Confidence Motion (NCM) against the Government will be presented to Parliament this week by the 11 constituent parties and the 42 independent MPs.

He was confident that 125 MPs had already pledged their support to the NCM.

“As a result, if the Government is defeated by the NCM, an SLPP MP will be appointed as Prime Minister, and an Interim Government will be formed. The draft NCM has been sent to the SJB, JVP, and SLPP, and they have already pledged their support to vote in favour of the motion,” he said.

Gammanpila noted that he expects the Speaker to include the NCM on the agenda after he presents it.

BY Vineetha M. Gamage

Related posts